The View from the Front. By Stan R. Mitchell.
Stan R. Mitchell: The View from the Front
Episode 3-9-23
0:00
-1:05:31

Episode 3-9-23

Hey guys,

Welcome to the View from the Front podcast. If you just happened to stumble by, let me say a quick word about what we’re doing here.

For those who don’t know, my name is Stan R. Mitchell, and I’m a prior Marine and journalist.

Every week, I primarily do three things:

  • Work to highlight what our military troops are doing around the world, while also trying to better educate Americans about looming hotspots and foreign policy news you absolutely should know. (Why I focus on foreign policy...)

  • Attempt to unite our country and remind us of how lucky we are to live in America. Our division and animosity toward each other is dangerous, and I want to do my small part to remind us that more unites us than divides us, and that most Americans are good and not screaming, crazy extremists like you see on the news all the time. (My thoughts on the division in this country...)

  • Finally, I always share plenty of motivation and wisdom at the end of the episode, because I want to do my small part to help encourage you and lift you up. Life is certainly hard, and I think it’s fair to say all of us need all the motivation and encouragement that we can possibly get.

The View from the Front by Stan R. Mitchell is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

In this episode, we’ll be discussing several topics, that I think will really interest you, and that I almost guarantee you haven’t seen in the news! This includes:

  1. Timestamp: 2:42. Did you know Russia is now claiming Ukraine launched the war? And that Russia did NOT invade Ukraine? Yes, this was said by Russia’s foreign minister, Sergey Lavrov, and he was completely covered with laughs of mockery in a public forum. I briefly remind folks of the true history, and of how hard the West, NATO, and the United States worked to prevent the invasion by Russia before it began.

  2. Timestamp: 8:03. The battle of Bakhmut. So much has happened here since last week. Initially, Ukrainian forces appeared to be withdrawing, blowing up bridges and pulling back to better positions. But then several days later, Volodymyr Zelenskyy announced Ukraine would reinforce around Bakhmut and hold the city. It’s my opinion this was strictly for reasons of perception, and it was also for these reasons that Zelenskyy stated he was going public with internal discussions from him and his senior advisors.

  3. Timestamp: 14:14. Has the Russian Winter offensive and plans to tire out and wear down Ukraine failed? Yes, it appears it has. And it’s not just me saying it. Take a listen to what one foreign policy expert is saying, as well as one of Russia’s leading analysts.

  4. Timestamp: 22:32. It’s time for a quick update on Ukraine getting jets or tanks from the West.

  5. Timestamp: 27:02. Is the U.S. seriously considering retiring the F-22, one of the world’s premier fighter jets? Yes. Yes, it is.

  6. Timestamp: 27:02. China is preparing for the upcoming conflict with the West as it continues to prepare to invade Taiwan. Take a look at what China’s leading strategists, researchers, and military minds are concerned about. And in that same line of thinking, some naval minds realized the United States is overlooking one important resupply issue that could prove to be America’s Achilles heel if it’s not corrected.

  7. Timestamp: 42:45. Iran is currently dealing with some serious school poisonings that is affecting thousands of school girls across dozens of provinces. Who could be behind this? And what does this say about the strength of Iran’s government at the moment?

  8. Timestamp: 42:45. In tech news, we’ll look at three different topics this week: the rules for autonomous weapons to engage a target with lethal force, the concept behind a massive, flying seaplane that the Pentagon wants, and a design flaw that makes all the difference between American and Russian tanks.

  9. Timestamp: 54:05. Finally, we’ll cover plenty of motivation and wisdom.

  10. Timestamp: 1:01:46. And if you want to learn more about me, my hope for the country (and for those listening), and about the 11 books I’ve written, jump to here on the podcast.


The work I do each week is primarily a podcast. You can listen to it from the player above, or from whatever podcast you listen to it from.

And if you love what I’m doing here, please sign up for email notifications. It’s FREE. Unless you choose to subscribe and support what I’m doing. It’s $5 per month should you choose that option, and you can cancel at any time.

Also, people are always asking me on social media how to best support my dreams, including getting out future books sooner. Believe me, the best way to support me is by signing up for a paid subscription here. Or, you can sign up at Patreon or at Venmo (@authorstanrmitchell).

But you don’t have to do any of these things. I’ve already had incredible support and feel called to do this. As long as I’m making enough to cover the time I invest each week, I’m not going anywhere. Why paid subscriptions help, and what they’d help me do more of...

Enough of the sales pitch, I hope you enjoy today’s edition. Again, you should listen to it from the player above.

What follows are some of the news reports/source notes that I quote from in the podcast, as well as the motivation and wisdom links I read.

Selected source notes for the podcast.

Russia and Ukraine news:

Timestamp: 2:42. Did you know Russia is now claiming Ukraine launched the war? And that Russia did NOT invade Ukraine? Yes, this was said by Russia’s foreign minister, Sergey Lavrov, and he was completely covered with laughs of mockery in a public forum. I briefly remind folks of the true history, and of how hard the West, NATO, and the United States worked to prevent the invasion by Russia before it began.

Timestamp: 8:03. The battle of Bakhmut. So much has happened here since last week. Initially, Ukrainian forces appeared to be withdrawing, blowing up bridges and pulling back to better positions. But then several days later, Volodymyr Zelenskyy announced Ukraine would reinforce around Bakhmut and hold the city. It’s my opinion this was strictly for reasons of perception, and it was also for these reasons that Zelenskyy stated he was going public with internal discussions from him and his senior advisors.

But then, after the media jumped on the story, Ukraine altered course.

And Ukraine is displaying some skilled tactics and strategic chops.

Besides the limited — or lack of — success in Bakhmut, overall the Russian winter offensive has been a complete failure.

Timestamp: 14:14. Has the Russian Winter offensive and plans to tire out and wear down Ukraine failed? Yes, it appears it has. And it’s not just me saying it. Take a listen to what one foreign policy expert is saying, as well as one of Russia’s leading analysts.

And Russians are starting to grow nervous. It’s taken a year, but they’re finally growing concerned.

Timestamp: 22:32. It’s time for a quick update on Ukraine getting jets or tanks from the West.

Last week, we discussed Slovakia possibly sending jets to Ukraine. But there’s been no new reporting on this since last week.

But help on the ground is well on its way.

And long-term, the talk of F-16s coming to Ukraine again advanced this week.

Two Ukrainian pilots are in the U.S. for training assessment on attack aircraft, including F-16s

U.S. News:

Timestamp: 27:02. Is the U.S. seriously considering retiring the F-22, one of the world’s premier fighter jets? Yes. Yes, it is.

China news:

Timestamp: 27:02. China is preparing for the upcoming conflict with the West as it continues to prepare to invade Taiwan. Take a look at what China’s leading strategists, researchers, and military minds are concerned about. And in that same line of thinking, some naval minds realized the United States is overlooking one important resupply issue that could prove to be America’s Achilles heel if it’s not corrected.

Iran news:

Timestamp: 42:45. Iran is currently dealing with some serious school poisonings that is affecting thousands of school girls across dozens of provinces. Who could be behind this? And what does this say about the strength of Iran’s government at the moment?

Tech news:

Timestamp: 42:45. In tech news, we’ll look at three different topics this week: the rules for autonomous weapons to engage a target with lethal force, the concept behind a massive, flying seaplane that the Pentagon wants, and a design flaw that makes all the difference between American and Russian tanks.

Motivation and Wisdom:

Timestamp: 54:05. Finally, we’ll cover plenty of motivation and wisdom.

You know, just one small positive thought in the morning can change your whole day. And we all know that opportunities don't happen, you create them.

So, I want to make sure I do my best to feed you mentally. As you’ve probably heard, people often say that motivation doesn't last. Well, neither does bathing, that's why we recommend it daily.” That was said by the great Zig Ziglar, and I’ve found it to be true for sure.

Without further delay, let’s just begin.

And, I always like to end with this one:

And with that, thanks for joining us this week on The View from the Front.

Timestamp: 1:01:46. And if you want to learn more about me, my hope for the country (and for those listening), and about the 11 books I’ve written, jump to here on the podcast.

If you can, consider at some point becoming a paid subscriber.


The View from the Front is a reader-supported publication. The best way to support this work and make it sustainable is with a paid subscription. But at the same time, free ones are appreciated, too!


As a reminder, please be kind and try your best to love your fellow Americans.

So many men and women have sacrificed, fought, and died to keep this country together the past 240-plus years. Please work daily to unite our country again. The vast majority of Americans are decent, loving, great people.

Also, please try to be a better person each and every day. Try to be kinder on social media and how you interact with others with whom you disagree.

Also, if you have a dream kicking around in the back of your mind? Go after it. If you have that friend or family member that you know you should reach out to? Reach out to them.

Finally, and this especially goes to all my awesome military folks listening out there, if you need help, reach out to someone. Please. Call that friend or family member. Do it for us all. We’ve already lost too many of the greatest folks that this country has produced to suicide. So I’m asking you to be brave once more, and show some vulnerability. Take a deep breath, breathe, and call a friend or family member or someone who can help.

I appreciate each and every one of you. Every tweet, every share, every email, etc. I can’t even tell you how much those mean to me, and I love each and every one of you.

Please join me again in our next episode, and please stay safe until then.

And with that, I’m out.

Semper Fidelis,

Stan R. Mitchell

P.S. Don’t forget to check out my books. I’ve written a CIA/Marine sniper series, a detective series, a private investigator series, an action-packed Western, a motivational self-help book about President Obama, and two realistic war novels: one about World War II and one about Afghanistan. You can find all of these books on Amazon.

P.P.S. And here’s a short bio about me and what I’m trying to do with the newsletter.

0 Comments
The View from the Front. By Stan R. Mitchell.
Stan R. Mitchell: The View from the Front
Every Thursday, I cover our military, plus share some motivation, all while trying my best to unite our country. All posts are FREE! This show has no ads! However, please consider helping sustain and support the show for $5 per month from either Substack or Patreon. Thank you in advance for your support and for spreading the word about this independent show!!