The View from the Front. By Stan R. Mitchell.
Stan R. Mitchell: The View from the Front
Episode 9-20-22
0:00
-47:25

Episode 9-20-22

Image

Thank you so much for joining us today on The View from the Front podcast. My name is Stan R. Mitchell and in a nice guy, who’s working as hard as I can to unite this country. This show is mostly about military and defense news, and I’ll explain in a moment why I think it’s important we stay informed on this topic, but the show also includes plenty of motivation, which I hope inspires you and helps you in your daily journey toward your goals.

You know, just one small positive thought in the morning can change your whole day. And we all know that opportunities don't happen, you create them.

So, I want to make sure I do my best to feed you mentally. As you’ve probably heard, people often say that motivation doesn't last. Well, neither does bathing, that's why we recommend it daily.” That was said by the great Zig Ziglar.

And I may not be the great Zig Ziglar, but my friends say I’m pretty motivating.

But this show is about more than just trying to help you as you confront whatever struggles you’re dealing with. This show is about a bigger issue confronting us, and that’s the great division that we face in America. 

A house divided cannot stand, and I will not remain silent while politicians and media personalities throw gas on a dangerous fire. These hotheads and extremists are simply seeking their own personal gain, and with every waking moment of their day, they’re doing their best to tear this country apart. And they're doing it so that they can advance to a higher office, or so that they can get more followers and advertising dollars. 

These hotheads and extremists are a danger to our country -- a serious one -- but I don’t think they speak for most Americans. Most Americans are good people, who would help you in a heartbeat. I’ve been helped out in the country, and I’ve also been helped in major cities. 

My friends, most Americans are good. And I think you need to hear this said out loud on a regular basis.

Let’s not let the loud, angry politicians and media personalities darken our hearts. And let’s also not let them rip apart this country that we all love.

I fully understand how frustrated most Americans feel at how divided we are, and it’s time for a better way.

That’s why I’m doing this. I couldn’t find a podcast designed for people who love their country, and for people who are tired of their news being over-the-top and scary, so I decided to create one. 

This is a show designed for people who are also tired of hysterical, over-the-top politicians and media pundits, who manipulate and take advantage of an under-informed public.

It’s a show for average citizens, who I know are too busy to really study all of the issues that confront us. I’ll do my absolute best to explain things as simply as I can.

I feel I need to say just a bit about why I’m convinced that foreign-policy decisions matter. Foreign policy decisions can be tragic and heartbreaking, and it’s important that we get them right. When we get them wrong, such as we did during the Vietnam War, our very country can be ripped apart by division and chaos. It’s also crucial that when we get them wrong, as we did in Vietnam, then the faster we can course correct, the faster we can reduce how many lives we lose. 

America is the world’s leading power, and we mostly lead the world from a position of moral authority, showing other countries how they should behave in regards to ethics, restraint, and providing freedom for their citizens.

We are a force of good for the world, although I will acknowledge that we are not perfect. 

I don’t claim to have all the answers, but I know that our democracy doesn’t work without informed voters. And I also know we need to grow closer together and show more patience and kindness. 

I strongly believe that more unites us than divides us, and while we face great challenges as a country, America has stood together for more than 240 years.

It’s only by pulling our country closer together that we can pass on a better future for our kids, and we need to hold and cherish the beliefs that got us here today. Beliefs such as patience, kindness, and a strong belief that our best days lie before us. These are the beliefs that got us to this point. And they’re also the kind of optimistic beliefs that will get us to a brighter future. 

So, let’s get a little better informed, which I’ll do my best to help you do, while also keeping it interesting and brief. And let’s also work to get a little more united as a people. 

And with that, let’s get started. 

The View from the Front by Stan R. Mitchell is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Source notes follow below, with subject heading in bold. (I again apologize for not being able to do full write-ups at this time.):


Ukraine-Russia news:

An important reminder, lest we forget.

India Prime Minister Modi tells Russia’s Putin that now ‘is not an era of war’

“I know that today’s era is not an era of war, and I have spoken to you on the phone about this,” Modi told Putin at a televised meeting in the ancient Uzbek Silk Road city of Samarkand.

As Modi made the remark, Russia’s paramount leader since 1999 pursed his lips, glanced at Modi and then looked down before touching the hair on the back of his head.

Putin told Modi that he understood the Indian leader had concerns about Ukraine, but that Moscow was doing everything it could to end the conflict.

“I know your position on the conflict in Ukraine, the concerns that you constantly express,” Putin said. “We will do everything to stop this as soon as possible.”

India has become Russia’s No. 2 oil buyer after China as others have cut purchases following the invasion.


Hat tip to Doc (@docinkc) for the next video and footage. He’s a veteran, who mostly tweets about geopolitics and national security, so go follow him if you’re on Twitter.



From the story:

When Russian President Vladimir Putin held the final meeting of his Security Council before launching the invasion of Ukraine, one Kremlin hawk seemed to dominate the room.

Nikolai Patrushev, the powerful Security Council secretary and close Putin ally from their days together at the KGB in St. Petersburg, told the Russian president that the United States was behind tensions in eastern Ukraine and seeking to orchestrate Russia’s collapse. “Our task is to defend the territorial integrity of our country and defend its sovereignty,” Patrushev said in broadcast remarks.

Patrushev, whose position is equivalent to the U.S. national security adviser, was expressing a Cold War view that has driven Putin’s war.


News about China and Taiwan:

Tech news:


Motivation and wisdom:

Jaylen Watson (born September 17, 1998) is an American football cornerback for the Kansas City Chiefs of the National Football League (NFL). He played college football at Ventura College before transferring to Washington State.

Watson began his college career at Ventura College. As a sophomore, he recorded 43 tackles with 13 pass breakups, four interceptions, and one fumble recovery.[1] Watson initially committed to transfer to USC, but did not enroll at the school and did not play in 2019. Watson later decommitted and signed to transfer to play at Washington State.[2]

Watson became an immediate starter at cornerback for the Washington State Cougars and was named honorable mention All-Pac-12 Conference after recording 13 tackles, two passes broken up, a forced fumble and one recovered fumble in three games during the team's COVID-19-shortened 2020 season.[3] He repeated as an honorable mention All-Pac 12 selection in his final season.[4]

Watson was a 7th round draft selection in the 2022 NFL draft.

Watson recorded his first career interception and touchdown against the Los Angeles Chargers. He returned the interception 99 yards for a touchdown.[7]

I always like to end with this one:

And with that, thanks for joining us this week on The View from the Front.

For those who want to know just a little bit more about me, here’s the short version.

I’m from Knoxville, Tenn., and I left home to join the Marine Corps at the age of 17. I was also crazy enough to demand that the Marine Corps put me down for guaranteed infantry, even though the recruiter lied and said they didn’t have any infantry slots. He was trying to get me into intelligence because I managed to somehow score high on the ASVAB test. Maybe he would have gotten a bonus if he’d been successful.

But I was a persistent little SOB and I started talking to the Army and even did a weekend training drill with their recruiters. They told me I could get infantry with them with a chance to become a Ranger. I was just about to sign when lo and behold, my Marine recruiter somehow found a guaranteed infantry slot.

It’s been said that I don’t usually stop when I make my mind up to make something happen, and I suppose that’s true to this day. I served four years in the infantry, saw enough danger to decide I no longer had anything else to prove, and exited military service in 1999.

I earned a degree from the University of Tennessee in journalism and spent ten-plus years in the news business. I worked initially as a reporter, but then went on to start a weekly newspaper. What can I say? Anyone crazy enough to start a weekly newspaper at the age of 27 is probably a dreamer and an optimist, and I confess that I’m both. 

I owned that weekly newspaper for nine years, from 2004 to 2013, but once it was clear that owning a newspaper wasn’t the best path to financial security, I went on to become an author. To date, I’ve written eleven books, and while I still have my sights set on the tallest peaks in the writing world, I’m now here, as well, a twice-a-week podcaster, who’s still in love with both this country and the news. 

And I see this podcast as a small way to continue serving our country, doing my best to inform and unite us in a time that we’re as divided as we’ve probably been in a hundred years. 

Well, I’ve talked enough about me. I really hope you’ll consider at least signing up to be a free subscriber. It sounds cheesy, but every new subscriber I get — and I promise you I get an email for each one — they really do help make my day.

And if you can, consider at some point becoming a paid subscriber.


The View from the Front is a reader-supported publication. The best way to make this work sustainable, and to help improve it, is with a paid subscription. But at the same time, free ones are appreciated, too!


Make sure to visit our website, stanrmitchell.substack.com, again, that’s stanrmitchell.substack.com. From there, you can subscribe to the show by email, so you’ll never miss a show.

As a reminder, please be kind and try your best to love your fellow Americans.

Let’s all work together to unite this country.

So, please, try to be a better person each and every day. Try to be kinder on social media and how you interact with others with whom you disagree.

Also, if you have a dream kicking around in the back of your mind? Go after it. If you have that friend or family member that you know you should reach out to? Reach out to them.

Finally, and this especially goes to all my awesome military folks listening out there, if you need help, reach out to someone. Please. Call that friend or family member. Do it for us all. We’ve already lost too many of the greatest folks that this country has produced to suicide. So I’m asking you to be brave once more, and show some vulnerability. Take a deep breath, breathe, and call a friend or family member or someone who can help.

I appreciate each and every one of you. Every tweet, every share, every email, etc. I can’t even tell you how much those mean to me, and I love each and every one of you all.

Please join me again in our next episode, and please stay safe until then.

Thanks again, everyone! You guys are the best. As always, don’t forget to check out my books. You can find all 11 of them on Amazon.

And with that, I’m out.

Semper Fidelis,

Stan R. Mitchell

P.S. Don’t forget to check out my books. I’ve written a CIA/Marine sniper series, a detective series, a private investigator series, an action-packed Western, a motivational/biography book about President Obama, and two realistic war novels: one about World War II and one about Afghanistan.

P.P.S. And here’s a short bio about me and what I’m trying to do with the newsletter.

0 Comments
The View from the Front. By Stan R. Mitchell.
Stan R. Mitchell: The View from the Front
Every Thursday, I cover our military, plus share some motivation, all while trying my best to unite our country. All posts are FREE! This show has no ads! However, please consider helping sustain and support the show for $5 per month from either Substack or Patreon. Thank you in advance for your support and for spreading the word about this independent show!!